Colburn Gala

Thank you to those who attended Celebrate Colburn on April 22, 2018. This year we honored architect Frank Gehry for his global vision and creativity in designing transformative and inspirational spaces for art, and Michael Tilson Thomas for his international contributions to classical music and his mentorship and support of the next generation of performers.


2018 Richard D. Colburn Award Recipients

Frank Gehry
Gehry has built an architectural career that has spanned over six decades and produced public and private buildings throughout the world. Hallmarks of his work include a concern that people exist comfortably within the spaces that he creates.
Read Mr. Gehry’s Biography
Michael Tilson Thomas
Michael Tilson Thomas is Music Director of the San Francisco Symphony, Founder and Artistic Director of the New World Symphony, America’s Orchestra Academy, and Conductor Laureate of the London Symphony Orchestra.
Read Mr. Thomas’ Biography


Re-Visit Our 2018 Gala

We loved celebrating with you at the 2018 Celebrate Colburn Annual Gala. Your generosity helped raise more than 1 million, directly supporting our outstanding programs.


2018 Gala Chairs and Honorary Co-Chairs

Gala Chairs

Carol Colburn Grigor
Murray Grigor

Honorary Co-Chairs

Carol and Warner Henry
Ann and Robert Ronus
Alyce de Roulet Williamson and Warren Williamson
Marilyn Ziering


Mark Your Calendar for Next Year’s Celebration

March 2, 2019

We thank you again for attending Celebrate Colburn 2018 and hope you will join us for another spectacular evening of Colburn at its finest next year on March 2, 2019. Each year, we look forward to our annual gala as an opportunity for the school to connect with our greater Los Angeles civic community as we honor leaders who have made a difference.