Our Staff and Leadership

The Colburn School faculty and staff are accomplished and well-received professionals in their areas of expertise. They are committed to providing our students the best instruction and guidance as the young performers prepare for advanced education and careers as professional musicians and dancers. Our staff and faculty also are key supporters of the Los Angeles cultural arts community.

Board of Directors


Andrew Millstein, Chairman
Carol Colburn Grigor, Life Chairman Emeritus

Vice Chairmen

David D. Colburn
Diane Naegele


Daniel L. Avchen
Henry Choi
Richard W. Colburn
Alice Coulombe
Jennifer Diener
Anthony E. DiResta
Darren Edwards
Greg Guyett
Carol F. Henry
Catherine Colburn Høgel
Molly Kirk
Aliza Lesser
Robert E. Lewis
Beverly C. Marksbury
Steven F. Matt
Greg McWilliams
Mahnaz Newman
Ann Ronus
Heinrich Schelbert, M.D., Ph.D
Harry B. Suh
Keith Terasaki
Peter W. Wardle
Dylan Yolles

Honorary Life Directors

Robert S. Attiyeh
Toby E. Mayman

In Memoriam

David N. Barry
Iona Benson
Edmund D. Edelman
Robert B. Egelston
Warner Henry

Executive Leadership

Sel Kardan
President and Chief Executive Officer

Adrian Daly, DMA

Maeesha Merchant
Chief Financial Officer

Linda Cormier
Vice President, Administration

Annie Wickert
Vice President, Advancement

Jennifer Kallend
Vice President, Communications

Academic Leadership

Susan Cook
Dean, Community School of Performing Arts

Lee Cioppa
Dean, Conservatory of Music

Adrian Daly, DMA
Music Academy

Silas Farley
Dean, Trudl Zipper Dance Institute

Nathaniel Zeisler, DMA
Dean, Community Initiatives



Amy Bryan, Donor Engagement Director
Luis Castro, Jr., Information Strategy and Donor Services Associate
Mark Dawson, Endowment and Planned Giving Officer
Nicole Gordillo, Advancement Officer, Institutional Giving
Kelly Gray, Institutional Giving Officer
Parisa Zaeri, Advancement Communications Specialist
Nina Zhou, Assistant Vice President of Advancement

Artistic Administration and Career Development

Nick Gianopoulos, Artistic Administration and Career Development Assistant
Christine Tanabe, Manager, Artistic Administration and Career Development; Special Assistant to the Provost

Audio Visual

Francesco Perlangeli, Manager, AV
Sergey Parfenov, AV Technician
Derek Williams, AV Technician

Center for Innovation and Community Impact

Jazmín Morales, Assistant Director, Center for Innovation and Community Impact

Colburn Café

Steven Doner, Certified Professional – Food Safety, Foodservice Management Professional, Manager, Cafe Finance Operations


Kali Blevins, Marketing Manager
Anneke Hiatt, Graphic Designer
Clara Huang, Web Manager
Christina Mancebo, Assistant Director of Communications
Philip Pirolo, Creative Director
Michele Yamamoto, Manager, Alumni and Parent Relations

Community School of Performing Arts

Candy Smirnow, Assistant Dean
Ivette Tello, Student Services Specialist

Conservatory of Music

Jessica Cameron, Administrative Manager
Caitlyn Chenault, Performance Librarian
Lauren Woodward, Manager of Admissions and Recruitment


Chuck Scroggins, Director of Engineering
Joseph Arechiga, Engineer
Miguel U. De Leon, Engineer
Gloria Hernandez, Janitorial Manager
Tom P. McDonald, Operating Maintenance Engineer
Miguel Angel Meza, Operating Maintenance Engineer
Tom Ochoa, Assistant Chief Engineer


Ramon Alvarez, Director, Budget and Reporting
Bethel Datingaling, Accounting Manager
Evelyn Garcia, Accounting Clerk
Aliana Lungo-Shapiro, Manager, Financial Planning and Analysis
Liza Mullins, AVP/Controller
Yan Niu, Accounts Payable Accountant
Teresa Wong, Senior Accountant

Human Resources

Sarah Forman, Payroll Manager
Ileana Medrano, Human Resources Manager
Daniel Monge, Payroll and Human Resources Analyst
Shawn Smith, Director of Human Resources

Information Technology

Oyvind Dossland, Director of IT
Efrain Cornejo, IT Associate


Deborah Smith, Director of the Library; Director of Academic Programs, Conservatory of Music
Christopher Garcia, Senior Assistant for Technical Services
Eva Della Lana, Senior Assistant for Public Services

Music Academy

Jenna Gundersen, Program Associate

Piano Technology

Neema Pazargad, Director, Piano Technology
Ryan Maas, Piano Technician

President’s Office

Randy Osherow, Special Assistant to the President and CEO


Victor Pineda, Director of Production
Jessica Ewing, Manager, Facilities Scheduling and Rentals
Paul Loera, Stage Production Assistant Manager
Claire Mazzeo, Production Assistant
David Mencos, Stage Production Assistant Manager
Elmer Pacheco, Stage Production Assistant Manager
Peter Phol, Production Assistant
Pedro Ruiz, Office Service Coordinator

Residence Life

Jeniffer Criss-Williams, Manager, Residential Life and Summer Housing Program
Magaly Dacosta, Interim Manager, Residential Life and Summer Housing Program


Sandra Gendron, Director of Security

Trudl Zipper Dance Institute

Darleen Callaghan, Associate Dean, Trudl Zipper Dance Institute
Gavin Kelley, Manager, Dance Department
Sarah Lakey, Dance Projects and Enrollment Administrator