Celebrate Colburn Gala 2023

Celebrate Colburn 2023

We were delighted to host our community on Sunday, April 23 for the annual Celebrate Colburn Gala. It was an honor to celebrate our Civic Honoree, Austin Beutner, and our Artistic Honoree, Stéphane Denève, along with our incredibly talented Colburn student artists. Your presence and philanthropic support of this special evening contributes to a 70-year tradition of providing critical access and scholarships to excellent performing arts education for students from across Los Angeles and around the world.

View photos from this year’s Celebrate Colburn Gala


Invitation Information

The Celebrate Colburn Gala is a wonderful tribute to the power of the performing arts. More importantly, it raises vital funds for the school so that we can continue to offer a transformational music and dance education to our students, regardless of their financial circumstances.
Learn how donations allow us to educate and inspire students across the world.

The Celebrate Colburn Gala is also an opportunity for you and your families, friends, and colleagues to join us for a wonderful evening of performance and festivities! Ticket holders can enjoy:

  • An elegant reception and dinner on the Colburn Plaza, where you will be served a delectable three-course meal and enjoy surprises and Serenades throughout.
  • The best seats in the house for a magical Colburn Orchestra performance at Walt Disney Concert Hall. Artistic Honoree Stéphane Denève leads the orchestra in works by Frank, Korngold, Strauss, and Ravel.
  • A post-concert after-party with the artists and Colburn School Trustees.

Additionally, the Gala honors members of the artistic and civic community who have made a significant contribution to the Arts. This year we are proud to recognize Austin Beutner as our Civic Honoree, for his support of the arts and education and his personal and professional commitment to youth in Los Angeles. Our Artistic Honoree is Stéphane Denève, Music Director of the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra, Artistic Director of the New World Symphony, and Principal Guest Conductor of the Netherlands Radio Philharmonic. He is recognized for his life-long artistry and special dedication to the next generation of performing artists.

Program Information

GABRIELA LENA FRANK Apu: Tone Poem for Orchestra
KORNGOLD Violin Concerto in D Major
RAVEL La valse

Single Ticket Opportunities

A single ticket includes an invitation to the reception, followed by a three-course plated dinner for one person, and a premium performance ticket in Walt Disney Concert Hall. Mentor tickets and above include an invitation to the after-party with the artists and Colburn School Trustees.

Apprentice Single Ticket $1,500
Principal Single Ticket $2,500
Mentor Single Ticket $5,000
Patron Single Ticket $10,000

Sponsorship Opportunities


  • Reception, Dinner, and Performance seating for up to 8 guests
All Apprentice level benefits and:

  • Invitations for you and your guests to the Gala After-Party with the artists and Colburn School Trustees
  • Exclusive invitation to a private salon dinner with Stéphane Denève and a performance by Colburn School artists
  • Invitation to a private rehearsal with Stéphane Denève
MENTOR $50,000
All Principal level benefits and:

  • Reception, Dinner, Performance, and After-Party invitations for up to 10 guests
  • A Colburn Serenade at your table during the Gala
PATRON $100,000
All Mentor level benefits and:

  • A private concert performed by Colburn School artists at the venue of your choice

Tickets are no longer available

Have questions? Contact Tara Grand, tgrand@colburnschool.edu or phone 310-279-6430.

Can’t Make the Event?

If you are unable to attend this special event, and you would like to support our students, we invite you to contribute today. We hope you will help in this mission by supporting the Celebrate Colburn annual event.

Make a Gift Today

All proceeds benefit the Colburn School, and ticket costs are tax deductible as allowed by law, less $300 per attendee.


Artistic Honoree

Stéphane Denève

Recognized internationally for the exceptional quality of his performances and programming, Stéphane Denève is Music Director of the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra, Artistic Director of the New World Symphony, and from 2023 will also be Principal Guest Conductor of the Netherlands Radio Philharmonic. To learn more, click here.



Civic Honoree

Austin Beutner

Austin Beutner is a philanthropist and entrepreneur with a unique set of leadership experiences in business, government and as an entrepreneur including as CEO of Evercore, a publicly-traded company he founded, First Deputy Mayor of Los Angeles, Publisher and CEO of the Los Angeles Times and San Diego Union Tribune, Chairman of Vision To Learn, a national non-profit he created, Superintendent of the Los Angeles Unified School District and Author of Prop 28.

Beutner is a longtime supporter of the arts. He served on the Board of CalArts from 2000–2014, including five years as Chair. He also served as Chair of the Broad Stage Board from 2009 to 2014.

Mr. Beutner authored and led the passage of Proposition 28, a statewide ballot initiative which will provide the funding to restore arts and music in California public schools. Prop 28 is the first guaranteed increase in funding for California public schools in 34 years and will lead to the largest investment in arts and music in our nation’s history. It passed with more than 64% of the vote, the highest percentage of any statewide education initiative in California history.

Colburn is proud to recognize him for his support of the arts, education and his personal and
professional commitment to youth in Los Angeles.

Honorary Host Committee

We are pleased to recognize this year’s Celebrate Colburn Honorary Host Committee.

Each individual has contributed in both measurable and immeasurable ways to Colburn, through their leadership, generosity and commitment to the School’s mission of providing an exemplary performing arts education by renowned faculty to students from all over the world.

Anthony DiResta
Darren Edwards
Frank Gehry
Michael Giacchino
Max H. Gluck Foundation
Carol Colburn Grigor
Carol Henry
Molly Kirk
Toby Mayman
Benjamin Millepied
Diane Naegele
Mahnaz Newman
Esa-Pekka Salonen
Harry Suh
Jean-Yves Thibaudet
Michael Tilson Thomas
Yasuhisa Toyota
Eric Whitacre
Alyce de Roulet Williamson
Marilyn Ziering


Corporate Sponsors