Colburn Students and Alumni Recognized with GRAMMY Nominations

Community School student Anthony Gonzalez, pictured here with President and CEO Sel Kardan and voice instructor Rose Beattie, sings “Remember Me” from the Pixar hit Coco, which was nominated for Best Song Written For Visual Media.

The education that I got very early at the Community School continues to be invaluable to me…Everything that I do is informed by that solid foundation that I got from the Community School. Larry Klein

On December 7, the 2019 GRAMMY nominations were announced, and several current and former students from the Community School of Performing Arts were honored. The recording industry’s most prestigious award, GRAMMY awards represent lifelong achievements for artists and music creators across many genres, and nominations bring them one step closer to reaching that goal. Winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on February 10.

Congratulations to these students and alumni on these tremendous accomplishments.

Producer Of The Year, Non-Classical
Larry Klein

Former Community School student and current Community School parent Larry Klein was recognized for his work on numerous albums with artists including Thomas Dybdahl, Molly Johnson, and more.

Best Song Written For Visual Media
“Remember Me” (Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez, songwriters)

Current Community School student Anthony Gonzalez sings “Remember Me” from the Pixar hit Coco. Anthony studies with Rose Beattie and is a Herbert Zipper scholar.

Best Orchestral Performance
SCHUMANN  Symphonies Nos. 1-4
Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor (San Francisco Symphony)

Community School alumnus Michael Tilson Thomas was recognized for his artistic leadership at Celebrate Colburn 2017.

Producer of the Year, Classical
David Frost
For works including Mirror in Mirror, featuring Anne Akiko Meyers

Community School alumna Anne Akiko Meyers’ 37th studio album Mirror in Mirror was recognized as part of producer David Frost’s work. Anne Akiko Meyers was honored with the Distinguished Alumni Award at the 2017 Taste of Colburn.