Student Accomplishments, June 2019

Recent Music Academy graduate Ann Kuo was selected as the 2019 American Joe Zawinul “Z” Award winner.


Violinist Blake Pouliot (PSC ’18) made his Dallas Symphony Orchestra debut in mid-May.

Percussionist Derek Tywoniuk (MM ’15) has completed his PhD in Music Composition at the UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music.

Avi Nagin (BM ’13) will be joining the Amernet Quartet as second violin and will also be joining the faculty of Florida International University, where the quartet serves as Ensemble-in-Residence.

Trudl Zipper Dance Institute

This year’s Youth Dance and Dance Academy seniors will be attending the American Musical and Dramatic Academy, UC Santa Cruz, UC Berkeley, Syracuse University, San Diego State University, San Francisco State University, USC, Indiana University, and University of Utah.

Stephen Marshall, a Dance Academy student, will be joining the Carolina Ballet’s apprentice program.

Modern and ballet dancer Madeleine Lee was accepted to the Alvin Ailey training program.

Dance Academy student Maeve Sentner will be joining the Grand Rapids Ballet as an apprentice.

Community School of Performing Arts

This year’s graduating Community School students will attend The Juilliard School, Oberlin Conservatory, the Peabody Institute, UCLA, Harvard, Yale, Princeton, Columbia, Occidental College, Cal State Long Beach, Boston University, Berklee College of Music, San Francisco Conservatory, UC Santa Cruz, Pasadena City College, USC Thornton School of Music, Pierce College, and more.

Herbert Zipper Scholar and Community School violinist Nichole Aye was a guest performer playing all movements of Vivaldi’s “Summer” with Filipino-American Symphony Orchestra at Walt Disney Hall.

Community School violinist Amy Sze was chosen as a member of the Shenandoah String Quartet Program at the Heifetz International Music Institute.

Community School violist Andy Park won overall runner up for Best Performance of the Competition for ASTA Regional Finals and will advance to state.

Community School pianists Vivienne Hong-Harutyunyan and Sarah Shin were winners in the Southern California Junior Regional Bach Festival.

Community School pianist Will Robles won first place in Dozen Charitable Trust Fund Music Scholarship Competition (MTAC – Los Angeles branch).

Community School pianist Yiting Han was the first prizewinner of the MTNA Romantic/Impressionistic Competition.

Community School cellist Lucas Lee was an ASTA Solo Competition Elementary Division Winner.

Music Academy

Music Academy cellist Sarah Kave and Community School alumnus Javier Morales Martinez, clarinet, will perform on From the Top with guest host, pianist Lara Downes.

Recent Music Academy graduate Ann Kuo was selected as the 2019 American Joe Zawinul “Z” Award winner. She will spend three weeks in Vienna, Austria attending master classes and lessons as part of the Joe Zawinul Music Exchange program.