Student Accomplishments, October 2017

Artist Diploma candidate flutist Joachim Becerra Thomsen was appointed Associate Principal Flute of the Danish National Symphony Orchestra

Congratulations to these students on their tremendous accomplishments.


Conservatory flutist Joachim Becerra Thomsen was appointed Associate Principal Flute of the Danish National Symphony Orchestra.

Conservatory horn student Marty Mangrum performed with the Ottawa Symphony Orchestra as the winner of the OSO’s inaugural Sénécal-Mozart Prize.

Conservatory pianist Albert Cano Smit was a finalist in Concours Musical International de Montreal Competition.

Double bassist and current Master of Music candidate Hayden Joyce joined the Hawaii Symphony.

Da Kyung Kwak, a 2016 Performance Studies Certificate recipient, was appointed Associate Principal Viola of the Munich Philharmonic.

Hayato Tanaka, who graduated with his Performance Studies Certificate in 2017, joined the Tuscon Symphony as Third Trumpet.

Violinist Avi Nagin, a 2013 Bachelor of Music recipient, was appointed Principal Second Violin of the Princeton Symphony, Principal Second Violin of Symphony in C, and is a member of the New Haven Symphony.

Luke Fitzpatrick, a 2014 Artist Diploma recipient, joined the Sarasota Opera Orchestra as principal flute.

Music Academy

Flutist Ann Kuo won first prize in the Mount Orchestra’s Seventh Annual Concerto Competition at Mount Saint Mary University.

Cellist Valerie Chen was selected to perform in the All-National Honor Ensemble.  She will play with the symphony orchestra at Disney World’s Coronado Springs Resort in late-November.

Community School

Community School students Ethan Moffitt, Leo Major, and Sydney Wang were all selected for the Los Angeles Philharmonic’s Nancy and Barry Sanders Composer Fellowship Program.

The Angelo Velasquez Trio was selected to perform at the LA Jazz Society’s Ninth Annual Treasure Award Ceremony. Community School alumnus, drummer Angelo was the recipient of the LA Jazz Society’s 2017 Shelly Manne Memorial New Talent Award. His trio consists of fellow alumnus, pianist Luca Mendoza, and current student, bassist Ethan Moffitt.

Kairos, the winning group for the 2017 Angel City Arts Young Artist Competition, consisted of two Community School alumni this year, saxophonist Sean Harrison and guitarist Keelan Walters. The group was awarded $1500 and will open for the Jeff Parker Quartet at LACMA on October 6 at 6 pm. The performance will also air on a later broadcast on KJAZZ.

Community School student Victor Shlyakhtenko has been named a semifinalist for The American Prize in Piano Performance.

Dance Academy

Colburn Dance Academy Class Four students Anna Ingold, Olivia Jacobus, Summer Keller, Isabel MacGill, Elizabeth Nicks, Harry Peterson, Cyrus Shaskan, Abigail Ullendorff, Destiny Whimpye, and Sydney Williams will join Class Three Alumna Miranda Wattier in her L.A. Dance Project debut as they perform Benjamin Millipied’s “Steppin’ Out” as part of the L.A. Dance Project’s gala.