The Way Forward Premiere

During a year when musicians and dancers needed to collaborate from afar, faculty, alumni, students, and friends of Colburn came together under the direction of filmmaker Hamid Shams to produce this celebration of creativity and connectivity.

Filmed remotely in Australia, Canada, Finland, England, Spain, and on the Colburn campus in Los Angeles, The Way Forward is a visually stunning narrative featuring ballet, classical music, jazz, opera, and Eric Whitacre’s Virtual Choir 6, with 17,572 singers from 129 countries.

Previewed to a donor audience in 2020, the film is now publicly available for free. A portrait of a community brimming with talent, energy, and passion, The Way Forward is a celebration of the drive to perform and the will to create.

Performances by Esa-Pekka Salonen, Danielle de Niese, Jean-Yves Thibaudet, Kris Bowers, Fabio Bidini, Clive Greensmith, Calidore String Quartet and more, plus a special appearance by Academy Award-winner Christoph Waltz. View a complete list of performers and works featured in the film here.

The Way Forward Artists’ Studio

This lively discussion highlights the journey that these six young artists took over the past year and the significance of a project like this for their well-being, motivation, and budding careers.

Clive Greensmith, cello and chamber music faculty, Conservatory

Featured Artists
Ryan Meehan, Violin, Calidore String Quartet
Tate Zawadiuk, Cello, Viano String Quartet
Benett Tsai, Cello, Conservatory student
Cristina Mateo Sáez, Clarinet, Conservatory alumna
Isabella Bertagni, Dance Academy student

Watch Now

Online Film Premiere and Artist Q&A

Watch The Way Forward, a film that reimagines the concert-going experience for the digital age. Afterwards, artists from The Way Forward discuss the film’s creative process, performing in the time of COVID, and more.

Chris Lee, senior reporter for Vulture/New York Magazine

Sel Kardan, Colburn President
Hamid Shams, Director of The Way Forward
Eric Whitacre, Composer and Conductor
Danielle de Niese, Soprano
Olivia Jacobus, Colburn Dance Academy Graduate

Watch Now