Student Accomplishments, February 2020

The Viano String Quartet recently toured in 10 different European cities as co-winners of the 2019 Banff International String Quartet Competition.

Community School violinist Jinan Woo was selected as one of 44 competitors out of the 321 applicants for the Menuhin Violin Competition. The biennial competition will be held on May 14-24 in Richmond, Virginia.

Conservatory alumnus Kevin Lin (BM ’15) has been named Concertmaster of the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra beginning Fall 2020.

Esther Chae, a Music Academy cellist, won second place in the Blount-Slawson Young Artists Competition.

Violinist Zachary Brandon (BM) was a semifinalist in the 2020 Elmar Oliveira International Violin Competition.

As co-winners of the 2019 Banff International String Quartet Competition, the Viano String Quartet performed in 10 different European cities, including Paris, Berlin, and Hamburg. The quartet is in their first year as the Graduate Chamber Ensemble-in-Residence.

Spencer Lemann (Community School ’17) received the Outstanding Young Philanthropist of the Year award by Music Mends Minds on behalf of The Association of Fundraising Professionals Greater Los Angeles Chapter in November 2019.

Conservatory alumna Francesca dePasquale (BM ’12) has been appointed Assistant Professor of Violin at Oberlin Conservatory beginning Fall 2020.

Community School cellist Nathaniel Yue and violinists Sarah Yang and Andres Engleman performed in the Pacific Academy Foundation Benefit Concert on Saturday, January 11. They placed first, second, and third, respectively in the Pacific Academy Foundation Concerto Competition.

Fabiola Kim (AD ’18) has accepted a tenure track position as Assistant Professor of Music at the University of Michigan.

The following students were named as semifinalists in The Music Center’s Spotlight:

Classical Instrumental
Community School
Anoush Pogossian, Cole Turkel, Daniel Wang, Lawrence Wu

Music Academy
Albert Gang, Wenlan Jackson, Fengyang Ju, Eunice Lee, Shengyu Meng, Andy Park

Classical Voice
Community School
Clarisse Cao, Albert Gonzalez, Angie Villela, Emmanuel Yoque

Jazz Instrumental
Community School
Raven Adair, Ethan Avery, Kai Burns, Juan Carballo, Benjamin Conn, Charlie Faragher, Declan Houlihan, David Lee, Santiago Lopez, Alex Lui, JJ Lybbert, Leo Major, Gianna Pedregon, Cole Petridis, Makoto Yorihiro